PingMyUsers

Free email API and SMTP relay tiers in 2026: limits, catches and upgrade costs

Editorial team · updated · facts checked

Nine of the 13 transactional email providers in our catalog offer a free email API tier with no end date: Bird, Brevo, Mailgun, Mailjet, Mailtrap, Postmark, Resend, SendPulse and SMTP2GO. They allow 100 to 12,000 emails a month, and all but Postmark also cap the day or hour. Amazon SES, SendGrid, Infobip and Telnyx offer only credits or a trial.

We re-read every pricing page, limits page and help article cited here on 24 September 2026 and matched the numbers against our provider cards. Nobody on the editorial team opened an account or sent email, so what happens at each cap comes from the providers' own documentation. Domain records and Gmail and Yahoo sender rules are covered in our transactional email guide.

Free-forever email API and SMTP relay tiers

"Free forever" here means the vendor states no end date and asks for no payment. Rows are alphabetical; each allowance links to the page it comes from.

ProviderEmails a monthDaily or hourly capCard needed?API and SMTP relayWhat counts, other limitsChecked
Bird1,00050 a day, reset at midnight UTCNoBothOne sending domain; no overage24 September 2026
Brevo9,000 (300 a day)300 a day, no rolloverNoBothCampaign and transactional sends share the 30024 September 2026
MailgunNot printed100 a dayNoBoth1 custom sending domain, 1 day of logs24 September 2026
Mailjet6,000200 a dayNoBothUp to 1,000 contacts; Mailjet logo in the footer24 September 2026
Mailtrap4,000150 a day; new accounts 150 an hourNoBothSent and received emails; 3 days of logs24 September 2026
Postmark100None statedNoBothSent and received emails24 September 2026
Resend3,000100 a day (UTC calendar day)Not statedBothSent and received; each To, CC and BCC recipient24 September 2026
SendPulse12,000400 a day, 50 an hourNoBothEmails over 1 MB are not sent; up to 3 sender addresses24 September 2026
SMTP2GO1,000200 a day; 25 an hour until a sender domain is verifiedNoBothEach recipient counts as one email24 September 2026

The monthly headline misleads more often than it helps. Resend's 3,000 a month is reachable only by sending about 100 every day, and a receipt sent to a buyer with a BCC to your own inbox uses two of them. Resend, Mailtrap and Postmark also count received email, so an inbound support address shares the quota with your password resets.

In the transactional email API rankings, the free tier is half of the pricing score, and its size counts: our methodology grades a free-forever plan on a log scale from 40% of the points at 100 emails a month to 100% at 10,000 (a daily-only cap is multiplied by 30), and a trial or credits earn 20%. Brevo and SendPulse come closest to the top of that scale; Postmark's 100 a month sits at the bottom.

Mailjet pricing page with four plan cards: Free at $0 a month with 6,000 emails a month and 200 emails per day, Starter at $9 with 8,000 emails and no daily limit, Essential at $19 and Premium at $29 with 15,000 emails
Mailjet's pricing page, captured by the editorial team on 24 September 2026. The Free card shows both caps, 6,000 emails a month and 200 a day, and lists "APIs, SMTP Relay, Webhooks". "No Mailjet logo" first appears on Essential.

Trials and credits: Amazon SES, SendGrid, Infobip and Telnyx

ProviderWhat you getWhen it endsCard needed?API and SMTP relayChecked
Amazon SESNew AWS customers: $100 in credits, up to $100 more for completing activities, usable on SESFree account plan: six months or when credits run out; credits expire 12 months after sign-upYes, a payment method to verify identityBoth24 September 2026
InfobipUp to 100 messages per channel, only to the addresses verified at sign-up, from a shared test sender60 daysNoBoth24 September 2026
SendGrid100 emails a day60 daysNoBoth24 September 2026
Telnyx$5 testing credit for the whole accountWhen the credit is usedNot statedAPI only; no SMTP page in the docs24 September 2026

Two vendors contradict themselves. The SES FAQ still offers "up to 3,000 message charges for free each month for the first 12 months", while the SES pricing page lists only the credits. SendGrid's pricing page sells a 60-day trial, and the same page's FAQ still mentions 100 emails a day "on our free SMTP plan". We use the dated trial wording and count neither as free forever; ask the vendor before you plan around the older text.

The SES credit matters less than the SES sandbox. Until AWS grants production access, which is requested per Region, an account sends only to verified addresses, at most 200 messages per 24 hours. Infobip's trial also sends only to addresses verified at sign-up, and after 60 days you "cannot send traffic" without upgrading, per its trial page.

What happens when you hit the daily cap

This is the failure you see on launch day, and the providers handle it differently:

ProviderThe email over the daily capSource
BirdRejected until midnight UTCPlans and pricing
BrevoTransactional: up to 1,000 wait in a retry queue; beyond that, not deliveredFree-plan FAQ
MailjetQueued for the next day; removed after 3 days in the queue200-a-day article
MailtrapRejected and not sentSending limits
ResendThe API returns 429 daily_quota_exceeded until midnight UTCAPI errors
SMTP2GOQueued and delivered as the quota allows; after 1,000 in the month, rejectedFree Plan article
Mailgun, SendPulseNot stated on the pages we read—
PostmarkNo daily cap; at 100 in the month the page says only "No overages allowed"Pricing

Size for your busiest day, not your average month. Say a Supabase app gets 300 sign-ups on launch day: that is 300 confirmation emails before any receipt or reset. On Bird Free the 51st fails, on Resend the 101st, on Mailtrap the 151st. Mailjet and SMTP2GO push the overflow to the next day's quota, and a confirmation link that arrives a day late can cost you the sign-up. SendPulse's 400 a day covers the count, but at 50 an hour a burst above 50 hits its hourly limit, and its pages don't say whether the rest wait or fail. Supabase Auth also has its own hourly cap in front of the provider; the fix is on our Supabase email rate limit page.

Catches before you use a free tier in production

Approval before the first send. Brevo lets you send "once we approve your account for sending". SendPulse sends only after moderators approve the SMTP profile, which "usually takes up to 24 hours". Postmark delivers only to domains you own until a manual review, under 24 hours on weekdays per its approval article. Resend says free accounts get production access at sign-up with no sandbox.

How the vendor frames the plan. SMTP2GO's Terms call free accounts "primarily for trial purposes and for sending low amounts of email" and allow a business at most 10 of them. Postmark pitches its free plan for testing and side projects, and Mailgun labels its free card "Test us out". The pages we read don't forbid production traffic, and the allowances match the framing: 100 to about 3,000 emails a month.

Branding. Brevo's Free-plan FAQ says emails "always include the Sent with Brevo sticker", removable on Starter with the Remove Brevo branding add-on or on Standard and up. Mailjet drops its footer logo from Essential ($19) up; its $9 Starter keeps it. The other seven pricing pages list no logo or footer on free plans.

Domain authentication. Plan on SPF and DKIM records for your own domain before real sending; Gmail and Yahoo expect them. SMTP2GO throttles an account to 25 emails an hour until a sender domain is verified, and Mailtrap puts each new domain through an automatic compliance check before it sends. Mailgun's sandbox domain reaches only 5 authorized recipients. Its pricing page includes 1 custom sending domain on Free, while its docs FAQ still says free accounts can't create one; check before you build on it.

Short logs. Free plans keep sending logs for 1 day at Mailgun, 3 days at Mailtrap, 5 days at SMTP2GO and 30 days at Resend. Store webhook events yourself if you need to prove a reset email left.

How to pick a free tier for a vibe-coded app

Four questions narrow the list:

  1. What is your busiest day? Count confirmations, magic links, resets and receipts on launch day and compare that with the daily cap, not the monthly one.
  2. Who sends: your code or Supabase Auth? Supabase Auth takes SMTP credentials, and all nine free-forever plans include an SMTP relay; Telnyx lists none. Our Lovable and Supabase tutorial shows both paths. If your code calls the provider's API from a server route, the Next.js and React Email tutorial keeps the provider in one swappable function.
  3. Do you receive email too? At Resend, Mailtrap and Postmark, inbound mail eats the same quota.
  4. Can your emails carry another company's logo? If not, rule out Brevo and Mailjet on Free.

If your AI coding tool will do the wiring, the AI readiness data lists which of these providers publish an MCP server, agent skills or an llms.txt file.

When you outgrow the free tier

None of the nine free plans offers paid overage on the pages we read: past the cap, mail queues or fails. Brevo, Mailgun, Mailjet, Mailtrap, Postmark, Resend and SMTP2GO state that their first paid plan drops the daily cap; Bird's pages don't say. List prices on 24 September 2026, USD, monthly billing, before tax:

ProviderFirst paid planEmails a month
BirdStartup, from $1550,000
BrevoStarter, from $95,000
MailgunBasic, $1510,000
MailjetStarter, $98,000
MailtrapBasic, $1510,000
PostmarkBasic, $1510,000
ResendPro, $2050,000
SMTP2GOStarter, $1510,000

Brevo's Starter includes fewer emails a month (5,000) than its free plan allows (up to 9,000); you pay to lose the 300-a-day cap. Postmark has nothing between 100 and 10,000. SMTP2GO's interactive price table shows $15, while the page's no-JavaScript fallback still shows $10. SendPulse prints prices in the visitor's currency, and the page we loaded showed euros, so its paid plans are on the SendPulse card with the capture date. Metered options skip plans entirely: SES Essentials costs $0.16 per 1,000 emails, the plan new SES accounts have started on since 21 July 2026, and Telnyx charges $0.30 per 1,000 up to 10,000 a month at beta rates. SendGrid's Essentials plan starts at $19.95. Scored prices at 10,000 and 100,000 emails a month are in the transactional email API rankings.

About this guide

The PingMyUsers editorial team wrote this article under the rules on the methodology page; the directory is operated by Sensaria AG in Switzerland. We did not create accounts or send email. Providers appear alphabetically; none paid for placement or reviewed the text. Report an error to contact@sensaria.ch; corrections are dated and sourced.

Methodology

On 24 September 2026 we re-read each provider's pricing page and the limits, help, trial and terms pages listed under Sources, and compared every number with our provider cards, last checked 23 September 2026. Four help centers (Brevo, Mailgun, Mailjet, SMTP2GO) returned a bot check to plain page loads; we read the same articles through each help center's public article API. The 9,000 a month for Brevo is Brevo's own figure; Mailgun prints no monthly number. Section order follows 70 searches that GPT and Gemini ran for five phrasings of this question. Every card field carries a source, an evidence status and a check date.

Last updated

24 September 2026: first version. We re-check free tiers every six months, and sooner when a vendor changes its pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a completely free email API?

Yes. Bird, Brevo, Mailgun, Mailjet, Mailtrap, Postmark, Resend, SendPulse and SMTP2GO each offer a free plan with no end date, checked 24 September 2026. Each caps volume, and all but Postmark also cap the day or the hour.

Which free email API has the highest limit?

By monthly volume, SendPulse (12,000 a month, 400 a day, 50 an hour), then Brevo (300 a day, 9,000 a month) and Mailjet (6,000 a month, 200 a day). SendPulse and Brevo both review new accounts before the first send.

Can I use a free email API tier in production?

Resend states free accounts have production access from sign-up. SMTP2GO's Terms describe free accounts as mainly for trials and low volume, and Postmark and Mailgun pitch theirs for testing. The daily cap is usually what forces the upgrade.

Is there a free SMTP relay?

Yes. All nine free-forever plans above include SMTP relay alongside the API, from 100 emails a month (Postmark) to 12,000 (SendPulse). Telnyx, which has no free plan, documents no SMTP relay at all.

Does Amazon SES have a free tier?

Not a permanent one. New AWS customers get up to $200 in credits usable on SES, and a payment method is required. The SES FAQ still mentions 3,000 free message charges a month for 12 months, which the pricing page no longer lists. Nine Amazon SES alternatives keep a free plan with no end date.

Does SendGrid still have a free plan?

Its pricing page lists a 60-day free trial at 100 emails a day, no credit card needed. The same page's FAQ still mentions a "free SMTP plan" with no end date, so confirm with Twilio before relying on it, or compare the SendGrid alternatives that keep a free plan.

Do free email plans add branding to emails?

Brevo and Mailjet do. Brevo adds a "Sent with Brevo" sticker until you take Starter with its branding add-on or move to Standard; Mailjet keeps a footer logo up to its $9 Starter plan. The other free plans' pricing pages mention no branding.

Do I need a credit card for a free email API?

Not for most. Bird, Brevo, Mailgun, Mailjet, Mailtrap, Postmark, SendPulse and SMTP2GO state no card is needed; Resend doesn't say. Amazon SES requires a payment method even for the AWS free plan.

Sources

  1. Amazon SES — pricing (AWS Free Tier credits, pricing plans) — checked 24 September 2026
  2. Amazon SES — FAQs ("3,000 message charges" wording) — checked 24 September 2026
  3. Amazon SES — Request production access (sandbox limits) — checked 24 September 2026
  4. AWS — Free Tier documentation (credits, six-month free plan) — checked 24 September 2026
  5. AWS — Free Tier FAQs (payment method at sign-up) — checked 24 September 2026
  6. Bird — Email API pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  7. Bird — Plans and pricing (knowledge base) — checked 24 September 2026
  8. Brevo — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  9. Brevo — Transactional email product page — checked 24 September 2026
  10. Brevo — FAQs: What are the limits of the Free plan? — checked 24 September 2026
  11. Infobip — Free trial — checked 24 September 2026
  12. Infobip — Create an account — checked 24 September 2026
  13. Mailgun — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  14. Mailgun — What does the Free plan offer? — checked 24 September 2026
  15. Mailgun — Sandbox domain — checked 24 September 2026
  16. Mailgun — FAQs (custom domain wording) — checked 24 September 2026
  17. Mailjet — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  18. Mailjet — What is this 200 emails per day limit on free accounts? — checked 24 September 2026
  19. Mailjet — Subscription management — checked 24 September 2026
  20. Mailtrap — pricing (Markdown version) — checked 24 September 2026
  21. Mailtrap — Sending limits — checked 24 September 2026
  22. Mailtrap — Pricing plans — checked 24 September 2026
  23. Postmark — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  24. Postmark — pricing (plain-text version) — checked 24 September 2026
  25. Postmark — How does the account approval process work? — checked 24 September 2026
  26. Resend — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  27. Resend — Account quotas and limits — checked 24 September 2026
  28. Resend — Does Resend require production approval? — checked 24 September 2026
  29. Resend — API errors (daily_quota_exceeded) — checked 24 September 2026
  30. SendPulse — SMTP pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  31. SendPulse — SMTP limits — checked 24 September 2026
  32. SendPulse — Get started with SMTP (profile moderation) — checked 24 September 2026
  33. SMTP2GO — pricing — checked 24 September 2026
  34. SMTP2GO — Free Plan (support article) — checked 24 September 2026
  35. SMTP2GO — Terms of Service (free plan accounts) — checked 24 September 2026
  36. Twilio SendGrid — Email API pricing (trial and FAQ) — checked 24 September 2026
  37. Telnyx — Email API pricing (beta) — checked 24 September 2026
  38. Telnyx — Trial account privileges and limitations — checked 24 September 2026