PingMyUsers

Toll-free number texting: how to get toll-free verification approved (2026)

Editorial team · updated · facts checked

Toll-free number texting in the US and Canada starts with toll-free verification. You submit it through your SMS provider: legal business name and tax ID, website, contact, use case, sample messages and proof that recipients opted in, plus privacy-policy and terms URLs for new requests since 15 September 2026. Providers quote about 3 to 15 business days, and none of the six we checked publishes a verification fee.

We checked every page cited here on 23 September 2026, from six providers' verification docs to their price lists. We did not submit a verification or send messages, so review times are the providers' estimates. This page summarizes provider rules; it is not legal advice.

Who requires toll-free verification, and who reviews it

US and Canadian mobile carriers require it for 800, 888, 877, 866, 855, 844 and 833 numbers, per Sinch and Telnyx, and Twilio says the review checks carrier requirements and CTIA guidelines. Unverified numbers do not send: Twilio blocked never-submitted numbers from 8 November 2023 and pending ones from 31 January 2024 (error 30032); Plivo gives 8 November 2023.

Who reviews depends on the provider: Twilio's own "Verification Ops" team followed by carrier approval, a verification partner at Sinch Engage (Sinch's texting app), or the carrier at Plivo and Telnyx. No provider page we checked names a central registry. The Campaign Registry runs 10DLC only, and Somos's TSSRegistry, where a certified registrar text-enables a number, is a separate step. None of these pages describes an FCC filing, and approval does not replace your own consent obligations.

How to get a toll-free number verified, step by step

1. Get a toll-free number on a paid account

Twilio's console guide requires a paid account and a Primary or Secondary Compliance Profile before you buy the number, though an older Twilio trial article still describes verifying the free trial number. Plivo needs an existing Plivo profile. Verification does not move between providers: after porting or hosting a number into Twilio, submit once the port completes, or the request may fail with error 30447.

2. Collect the business identity

  • Legal name exactly as on the IRS CP 575 or 147C letter, with trade names in the DBA field. AWS's business verification page calls a name mismatch "the most common cause" of failures.
  • Business Registration Number (an EIN in the US), its type and issuing country: mandatory for new submissions at Twilio and Telnyx since 17 February 2026, and at AWS. Twilio and AWS exempt sole proprietors; Telnyx takes their SSN.
  • Entity type: sole proprietor, private or public for-profit, nonprofit or government.
  • Website: live, branded, no login, not "under construction". Twilio may accept an active public social page from a small business.
  • Contact: a named representative with an email on the company's domain; Twilio reviews free-mail addresses more strictly.

A number belongs to one business, and AWS ties each number to one use case. Twilio allows five numbers per business before it asks for a written justification.

3. Build an opt-in that reviewers accept

Reviewers open the page where you collect phone numbers. Per Twilio's onboarding guide, the call to action next to the phone field names the business, message type and frequency, says "Message and data rates may apply", gives STOP and HELP instructions, and links the terms and privacy policy. The consent checkbox loads unchecked, and customers can create an account or check out without ticking it. Marketing and transactional texts need separate checkboxes, and SMS consent cannot ride on an email signup; a form that exists only to join the SMS list typically needs no checkbox.

Opt-in evidence must be public. For a form behind a login, on paper or in a phone script, host screenshots at a link anyone can open (AWS takes a PNG of up to 400 KB). Our 10DLC guide's web-form example shows the elements in place; for toll-free, write the rates line in full as Twilio's template does.

4. Publish a privacy policy and SMS terms

Since 15 September 2026, new requests at Twilio, AWS, Plivo and Sinch Engage must include a privacy-policy URL and a terms URL; Twilio rejects gaps with 30493 (terms) and 30536 (privacy policy). Telnyx's field reference and Vonage's registration guide still mark both optional: send them anyway.

The terms name the program, describe the messages and their frequency, give a support contact, explain STOP, include the rates line, and state that carriers are not liable for delayed or undelivered messages. The privacy policy must not allow opt-in data to be shared or sold; if it mentions sharing at all, add the clause from Twilio's guide that excludes SMS opt-in data. Both URLs must match what customers see at opt-in.

5. Write the use case, volume and sample messages

Pick the category that matches the content, such as two-factor authentication, account notifications or marketing. The summary says who sends, who receives, what and why (Plivo caps it at 500 characters). Twilio wants a description, opt-in flow and sample for each use case; Sinch Engage wants a separate application per use case. At Twilio and Plivo, monthly volume comes from a fixed list, 10 to 10,000,000+, sized about six months ahead.

Twilio asks for 2 to 5 samples that name the business, use brackets for variables, link to full https domains you own, and include STOP wording at least once:

Illustrative code, written from the official documentation and not run by the editorial team.

ACCOUNT NOTIFICATIONS: Brightline Dental: your cleaning is booked for [date] at [time]. Manage it at https://brightline.example/visits. Reply STOP to opt out.
TWO-FACTOR AUTHENTICATION: Brightline Dental: your sign-in code is [123456]. It expires in 10 minutes. Reply STOP to opt out.

6. Submit and track the status

Submit in the console or through the API, then watch the status. Twilio's statuses map to what the number can do:

Twilio documentation table of toll-free verification statuses: Not verified means Restricted, Verification in progress means Pending, Approved means Verified, and Rejected gives seven days to resubmit for priority review
The status table on Twilio's toll-free verification console onboarding guide. Captured by the editorial team on 23 September 2026.

Plivo, Vonage and AWS also use an "update required" state that asks for more information. Twilio (through Event Streams), Telnyx and Plivo can call a webhook instead of making you poll.

After approval, carriers handle STOP on toll-free numbers themselves, per Twilio, AWS and Telnyx; Twilio says this opt-out cannot be removed, and customers re-subscribe with START or UNSTOP. Don't spread one campaign across several numbers to beat Twilio's default 3 segments per second: carriers filter it.

How long toll-free verification takes

Estimates by provider, checked 23 September 2026:

ProviderStated review timeCan a pending number send?After a rejection
AWS End User MessagingUp to 15 business daysNot stated; AWS says a toll-free number must be registered before useStatus "Requires Updates"; edit and resubmit
PlivoNot statedNo: unverified numbers cannot sendUPDATE_REQUIRED gives six days; REJECTED ends that use case
Sinch (Engage app)Up to 7 business daysNoNot stated
Telnyx1–2 weeksReduced: about 1 message per second while pendingNo limit on resubmissions
TwilioAbout 3–5 business daysNo: error 30032Seven days to resubmit with priority
VonageNot statedNo: unregistered numbers are blockedStatus UPDATES_REQUIRED

Telnyx is the outlier. Its troubleshooting page lists about 0.25 messages per second for unverified numbers and about 1 while pending, while Twilio, Plivo, Sinch and Vonage say that traffic is blocked. Sinch's figures come from the help center of Sinch Engage; the toll-free page of Sinch's API reference did not render for us. Plan for zero traffic until approval, and build against a test number in the meantime.

What toll-free texting costs

Twilio offers verification "free of cost", and Sinch's Engage help center says the same; the other four list no fee on the pages we checked. You pay for the number and each message segment:

ProviderVerification feeToll-free numberOutbound SMS segmentCarrier fees, per outbound segmentChecked
AWS End User MessagingNone listed$2/month$0.00774$0.00421, one fee for all networks23 Sep 2026
PlivoNone listed$1.00/month$0.0079AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile and Verizon $0.004523 Sep 2026
SinchFree (Sinch Engage); API fee page not readable$2/month + $2 setup$0.0078"Carrier fees apply"; amounts not readable23 Sep 2026
TelnyxNone listed$1/month + $1 one-time$0.0055AT&T $0.0035, T-Mobile and Verizon $0.004523 Sep 2026
TwilioFree$2.15/month$0.0083AT&T $0.0035; T-Mobile, Verizon and US Cellular $0.0045; others $0.00423 Sep 2026
Vonage (price sheet download)None listed€1.81/month€0.0102 (single US row on its price sheet)Not captured23 Sep 2026

Plivo sells SMS only on its Enterprise plan, from $1,000 a month. Twilio's best-practices article still shows a July 2021 toll-free carrier fee of $0.0025; the table follows its pricing page. Full fee sets and sources are on the provider cards for AWS End User Messaging, Plivo, Sinch, Telnyx, Twilio and Vonage, and the scored comparison is in our US SMS API rankings.

Why toll-free verification gets rejected, and how to fix it

Twilio's rejection guide publishes the most detailed codes; from 15 September 2026 it splits several old reasons into narrower ones. AWS and Telnyx describe the same causes in words.

RejectionDocumented asFix
Name or tax ID mismatchTwilio 30527, 30484; AWS "Name mismatch"Legal name as on the IRS letter; DBA in its own field; upload the CP 575 (AWS)
Website problemTwilio 30473, 30489, 30491; AWS "Invalid URL"Live, branded site with contact details and no login
Opt-in missing or unreachableTwilio 30476, 30509, 30543; AWS "Compliant Opt In Missing"Public URL to the form, or hosted screenshots
Forced or pre-checked consentTwilio 30505, 30508; AWS "Non Compliant Opt In Consent"Optional, unchecked box
Consent bundled with terms or emailTwilio 30475, 30513, 30556Standalone SMS consent
Call to action missing disclosuresTwilio 30518, 30544, 30545, 30547, 30568 to 30570Add name, purpose, frequency, rates, STOP and HELP
Privacy policy allows sharingTwilio 30520, 30521; AWS "Non Compliant Opt In Third Party"Add the non-sharing clause
Samples off the use caseTwilio 30499, 30538; Telnyx sample mismatchOne branded sample per use case
Public URL shortener or http linkTwilio 30525, 30471Full https links on a domain you own
Platform registered itself for a clientTwilio 30474, 30478; AWS "Invalid Business Connection"Register the end business, one number each

Prohibited content cannot be fixed by rewording: for codes such as 30459 (cannabis), 30461 (gambling), 30464 (cryptocurrency) and 30468 (third-party lead generation), Twilio says resubmitting does not permit that messaging.

Resubmit rather than start over: at Twilio, deleting a request sends the new one to the back of the queue, and Telnyx asks for a PATCH to the existing request.

Toll-free or 10DLC?

Toll-free10DLC
What you registerA verification request for the number and its use case (one number per request at Twilio and Plivo)A brand and a campaign with The Campaign Registry
Registration feesNone published; Twilio says free$4.50 brand + $15 campaign review + $1.50–$10 a month at most providers
Review timeAbout 3–15 business daysCampaigns 10–15 days (Twilio) to 4 weeks (AWS)
STOP handlingCarrier-level, not customizableProvider-level
Number8XX prefixLocal area code

Toll-free suits transactional traffic from a business that needs no local number; Twilio says it is not meant for hobbyist developers. Brand types, campaign rules and 10DLC fees are in our A2P 10DLC registration guide.

Submitting toll-free verification through an API

Twilio, Telnyx, Plivo, Sinch and Vonage document toll-free verification APIs. Twilio's Toll-free Verifications resource accepts the fields from steps 2 to 5:

Illustrative code, written from the official documentation and not run by the editorial team.

// submit-tfv.mjs (npm install twilio); run server-side, the number must already be on the account
import twilio from "twilio";
const client = twilio(process.env.TWILIO_ACCOUNT_SID, process.env.TWILIO_AUTH_TOKEN);

const verification = await client.messaging.v1.tollfreeVerifications.create({
  tollfreePhoneNumberSid: "PNxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
  customerProfileSid: "BUxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx", // approved Trust Hub Primary Customer Profile
  businessName: "Brightline Dental LLC", // legal name as on the IRS letter
  businessType: "PRIVATE_PROFIT",
  businessRegistrationNumber: "12-3456789",
  businessRegistrationAuthority: "EIN",
  businessRegistrationCountry: "US",
  businessWebsite: "https://brightline.example",
  notificationEmail: "compliance@brightline.example",
  useCaseCategories: ["ACCOUNT_NOTIFICATIONS", "TWO_FACTOR_AUTHENTICATION"],
  useCaseSummary: "Brightline Dental texts patients who booked online: visit reminders and sign-in codes.",
  productionMessageSample: "Brightline Dental: your cleaning is booked for [date] at [time]. Reply STOP to opt out.",
  optInType: "WEB_FORM",
  optInImageUrls: ["https://brightline.example/book"],
  messageVolume: "1,000",
  privacyPolicyUrl: "https://brightline.example/privacy",
  termsAndConditionsUrl: "https://brightline.example/sms-terms",
});
console.log(verification.sid, verification.status); // new requests start as PENDING_REVIEW

Telnyx's API reference posts to /v2/messaging_tollfree/verification/requests, but its guide pages show two other paths; follow the reference. An AI coding agent can fill these fields, not produce the consent evidence, so have a person check the form, policies and samples first. For sending code, see our tutorial on sending SMS from Node.js and Python.

About this guide

The PingMyUsers editorial team wrote this tutorial for developers texting US customers from a toll-free number; Sensaria AG in Switzerland operates the directory. Providers do not pay for placement, and none reviewed this page. To report an error, email contact@sensaria.ch with the page and the source that shows the correct fact.

Methodology

On 23 September 2026 we read each source listed below: Twilio's help articles (through its public Help Center API), the AWS, Telnyx, Plivo and Vonage docs, two Sinch Engage articles and each provider's US price list. Sinch's API reference renders client-side and its fee article sits behind a Cloudflare challenge, hence "not readable". We did not submit verifications or send messages. Section order follows 105 searches that GPT and Gemini ran for 10 phrasings of the question. Our scoring rules are on the methodology page.

Last updated

23 September 2026: first version, all facts checked that day. Next scheduled re-check: March 2027, or sooner if a provider changes toll-free requirements or fees.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get my toll-free number verified for texting?

Submit a verification request through the provider that hosts the number: legal name and tax ID, website, use case, volume, sample messages, opt-in evidence, and privacy and terms URLs.

Is toll-free verification free?

Twilio says it is free of cost, and Sinch's Engage help center says the same; AWS, Plivo, Telnyx and Vonage list no fee. You still pay for the number ($1 to $2.15 a month in USD) and each message segment.

How long does toll-free verification take?

Providers quote from about 3–5 business days (Twilio) to up to 15 (AWS); Sinch Engage says up to 7 and Telnyx 1–2 weeks.

Can I send texts while toll-free verification is pending?

At Twilio, Plivo, Sinch Engage and Vonage, no: that traffic is blocked (Twilio error 30032). Telnyx lists reduced throughput with filtering instead. Test against a virtual or test number until approval.

Can a sole proprietor verify a toll-free number?

Yes. Twilio, AWS and Vonage accept a sole-proprietor entity without an EIN (Vonage adds checks), and Telnyx takes an SSN. Twilio points individuals without a business to a 10DLC Sole Proprietor brand.

Do I need to verify again after porting a toll-free number?

Yes. Twilio says verifications do not transfer between providers or accounts, so submit once the port completes; traffic from a number verified elsewhere keeps flowing until then.

Should I use a toll-free number or 10DLC?

Toll-free has no published registration fee and one review; 10DLC needs a paid brand and campaign registration and gives you a local number.

Sources

  1. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free Verification Onboarding Guide (updated 17 June 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  2. Twilio Help Center — Why Was My Toll-Free Verification Rejected? (updated 10 September 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  3. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free Message Verification for US/Canada (updated 1 June 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  4. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free Verification and Developers (updated 5 June 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  5. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free Verification Policy for Collecting Business Registration Number (updated 5 June 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  6. Twilio Help Center — Best Practices for Using Toll-Free SMS and MMS in the US and Canada (updated 14 May 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  7. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free SMS and MMS messaging throughput (updated 13 March 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  8. Twilio Help Center — Trial Limits and US Toll-Free Number Restrictions (updated 12 September 2025) — checked 23 September 2026
  9. Twilio Help Center — Toll-Free Verification for Hosted and Ported Numbers (updated 22 May 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  10. Twilio Help Center — Opt-out keyword handling for Toll-Free SMS (updated 12 September 2025) — checked 23 September 2026
  11. Twilio — Toll-free verification console onboarding guide — checked 23 September 2026
  12. Twilio — Toll-free Verifications resource (Messaging Compliance API) — checked 23 September 2026
  13. Twilio — Error 30032: Toll-Free Number Has Not Been Verified — checked 23 September 2026
  14. Twilio changelog — Business Registration Numbers Required for Toll-Free Messaging Traffic — checked 23 September 2026
  15. Twilio — SMS pricing, United States — checked 23 September 2026
  16. AWS End User Messaging — United States toll-free number registration process — checked 23 September 2026
  17. AWS End User Messaging — US toll-free number registration form — checked 23 September 2026
  18. AWS End User Messaging — Toll-free number registration rejection reasons — checked 23 September 2026
  19. AWS End User Messaging — Business verification for toll-free registrations — checked 23 September 2026
  20. AWS End User Messaging — Toll-free number frequently asked questions — checked 23 September 2026
  21. AWS End User Messaging — pricing (and prices.json for US SMS) — checked 23 September 2026
  22. Telnyx — Toll-Free Verification with Business Registration Fields — checked 23 September 2026
  23. Telnyx — Toll-Free Verification Troubleshooting — checked 23 September 2026
  24. Telnyx — Submit Verification Request (API reference) — checked 23 September 2026
  25. Telnyx — pricing rate sheet (Markdown) — checked 23 September 2026
  26. Plivo — Toll-free Verification API — checked 23 September 2026
  27. Plivo — Toll-Free Registration Guidelines — checked 23 September 2026
  28. Plivo — US Messaging FAQ (10DLC, toll-free, short codes) — checked 23 September 2026
  29. Plivo — US SMS pricing — checked 23 September 2026
  30. Plivo — Plans and Pricing (Professional vs Enterprise) — checked 23 September 2026
  31. Sinch — SMS pricing — checked 23 September 2026
  32. Sinch — TFN verification (Registration API reference; page renders client-side) — checked 23 September 2026
  33. Sinch Engage Help Center — Toll-Free Number (TFN) Verification Overview (updated 20 August 2026) — checked 23 September 2026
  34. Vonage — How to Create a TFN Registration — checked 23 September 2026
  35. Vonage — How to Check the Status of a TFN Registration — checked 23 September 2026
  36. Vonage — pricing sheet download (Outbound SMS and SMS Numbers tabs) — checked 23 September 2026
  37. Somos — Text Enable Your Number (TSSRegistry) — checked 23 September 2026